High doses of BOTOX for the treatment of glabellar lines • EstPortal

High doses of BOTOX for the treatment of glabellar lines

Allergan Announces Results of Higher Dose BOTOX® Cosmetic (onabotulinumtoxin A) for the Treatment of Moderate to Severe Glabellar Lines.

  • Study met primary endpoint demonstrating that higher doses of BOTOX® Cosmetic produce greater duration of treatment effect.
  • Approximately one third of patients in higher dose BOTOX® Cosmetic group were responders at 24 weeks.
  • BOTOX® Cosmetic 40, 60 and 80 unit doses were well tolerated.

DUBLIN, Sept. 14, 2018 /PRNewswire/ – Allergan plc (NYSE: AGN) today announced clinical study results of higher doses of BOTOX® Cosmetic compared to BOTOX® Cosmetic 20 unit dose at week 24 in patients with moderate to severe glabellar lines.

Allergan conducted this trial to evaluate the duration of effect and safety of BOTOX® Cosmetic 40, 60, and 80 unit doses versus BOTOX® Cosmetic 20 unit dose in patients with moderate to severe glabellar lines. The primary efficacy endpoint was met and was statistically significant for BOTOX® Cosmetic 40 and 80 units versus 20 unit in 226 subjects at 24 weeks (analysis, ≥1 point improvement in Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) from baseline assessed by Investigator at Maximum Frown).

In this trial, 32 % of patients were responders at week 24 in the BOTOX® Cosmetic 40 unit group, 30.6 % in the BOTOX® Cosmetic 60 unit group, and 38.5 % in the BOTOX® Cosmetic 80 unit group as compared to 16 % in the 20 unit group. The dose effect was observed across additional outcome variables.

For responders with a >1 point improvement, the time to return to baseline also demonstrated a dose-effect. The median time on the Kaplan-Meier curve was 19.7 weeks for 20 Units and 24.0 weeks for 40 Units, suggesting the median benefit of 40 units is between 20 and 24 weeks.

“These study results help us better understand the BOTOX® Cosmetic dose duration of effect and confirm our hypothesis that higher doses of botulinum toxin produce a longer duration of treatment effect for the treatment of glabellar lines,” said David Nicholson, Chief Research and Development Officer, Allergan. “Based on this data, doubling the dose of botulinum toxin extends the duration of effect to 24 weeks in approximately one-third of patients.”

The higher doses of BOTOX® Cosmetic were safe and well tolerated. In a total 233 patients evaluable for safety, there was one serious adverse event (SAE) unrelated to treatment. Overall treatment related adverse events (AEs) compare favorably with USPI labeled AEs and no new safety signals were identified. Across all studied doses there was 1 case (0.4 %) eyelid ptosis at 80 unit and 1 case (0.4 %) eyebrow ptosis at 20 unit.

About Glabellar Lines

The Glabella is the skin between the eyebrows and above the nose. Glabellar Lines, often called “frown lines”, are vertical lines that develop between the eyebrows and may appear as a single vertical line or as two or more lines and may also appear angled toward the inner corners of the eyebrows. When we frown, the muscles of the lower forehead contract in a downward direction, causing the skin between the eyebrows to crease. Lines are formed by the repeated action of frowning due to the lack of elasticity to the skin. Age, sun exposure, and genetics are contributing factors.

Approved Uses

BOTOX® Cosmetic is a prescription medicine that is injected into muscles and used to temporarily improve the look of moderate to severe forehead lines, crow’s feet lines, and frown lines between the eyebrows in adults. Allergan plc (NYSE: AGN), headquartered in Dublin, Ireland, is a bold, global pharmaceutical leader.

Похожие публикации:

Высокие дозы BOTOX для коррекции глабеллярных морщин • EstPortal

Высокие дозы BOTOX для коррекции глабеллярных морщин

Компания Allergan объявила результаты исследования использования более высоких доз BOTOX® Cosmetic (onabotulinumtoxin A) для коррекции средних и глубоких глабеллярных морщин.

  • Исследование соответствовало первичной конечной точке, демонстрируя, что более высокие дозы BOTOX® Cosmetic обеспечивают большую продолжительность лечебного эффекта.
  • Примерно одна треть пациентов в группе с более высокой дозой BOTOX® Cosmetic имела положительный эффект в течение 24 недель.
  • Дозировка BOTOX® Cosmetic 40, 60 и 80 ЕД была хорошо переносимой.

14 сентября 2018 года в Дублине компания Allergan plc (NYSE: AGN) объявила результаты клинических исследований более высоких доз BOTOX® Cosmetic по сравнению с дозировкой BOTOX® Cosmetic 20 ЕД, которые проводились на протяжении 24 недель у пациентов со средними и глубокими глабеллярными морщинами.

Компания Allergan провела исследование для оценки продолжительности эффекта и безопасности дозировок BOTOX® Cosmetic 40, 60 и 80 ЕД в сравнении с дозировкой BOTOX® Cosmetic 20 ЕД у пациентов со средними и глубокими межбровными морщинами. Первичная конечная точка эффективности была достигнута и стала статистически более значимой для BOTOX® Cosmetic 40 и 80 ЕД по сравнению с 20 ЕД у 226 добровольцев (пациентов), которые наблюдались в течение 24 недель (улучшение ≥1 балл по шкале лицевых морщин (FWS*) от базовой оценки, оценённой исследователями при максимальном напряжении).

*Валидированная шкала морщин лица FWS (Facial Wrinkle Scale), согласно которой «0» означает отсутствие морщин, «1» – очень тонкие морщины, «2» – тонкие морщины, «3» – умеренно выраженные, «4» – выраженные морщины.

В этом исследовании в течение 24 недель 32 % пациентов были респондентами в группе BOTOX® Cosmetic 40 ЕД; 30,6 % – в группе BOTOX® Cosmetic 60 ЕД и 38,5 % – в группе BOTOX® Cosmetic 80 ЕД по сравнению с 16 % в группе 20 ЕД. Пролонгированный результат от более высокой дозы ботулотоксина типа А наблюдался во всех группах.

Для респондентов с улучшением >1 балл, время возврата к исходному уровню также продемонстрировало более длительный эффект увеличенной дозы. Среднее время на кривой Каплана-Мейера составляло 19,7 недели для 20 ЕД и 24,0 недели для 40 ЕД, предполагая, что статистическое преимущество в 40 ЕД составляет от 20 до 24 недель.

«Эти результаты исследования помогают нам лучше понять продолжительность действия дозы BOTOX® Cosmetic и подтвердить нашу гипотезу о том, что более высокие дозы ботулинического токсина дают более длительный эффект для разглаживания глабеллярных морщин, – сказал Дэвид Николсон, главный сотрудник по исследованиям и разработкам компании Allergan. – Исходя из этих данных, удвоение дозы ботулинического токсина увеличивает продолжительность действия до 24 недель примерно у одной трети пациентов».

Более высокие дозы BOTOX® Cosmetic были безопасными и хорошо переносимыми. В общей сложности среди 233 испытуемых пациентов был один побочный эффект. Во всех исследованных дозах наблюдался 1 случай (0,4 %) птоза век при 80 ЕД и 1 случай (0,4 %) птоза брови при 20 ЕД.

Глабеллярные морщины (межбровные морщины)

Глабелла – это кожа между бровями и над носом. Глабеллярные морщины представляют собой вертикальные линии, которые образуются между бровями и могут появляться как одна вертикальная линия или две и более линий, а также могут отображаться под углом к ​​внутренним углам бровей. Когда мы хмуримся, мышцы нижней части лба сжимаются в нисходящем направлении, заставляя кожу между бровями напрягаться. Морщины образуются в результате постоянного движения из-за отсутствия эластичности кожи. Вторым фактором являются возраст, солнце и генетика.

Одобренное использование

BOTOX® Cosmetic – это лекарство, отпускаемое по рецепту, которое вводится в мышцы и используется для временного улучшения внешнего вида горизонтальных морщин лба, морщин вокруг глаз (“гусиных лапок”) и морщин между бровями у взрослых. Выпускается фармацевтической компанией Allergan plc (NYSE: AGN), Ирландия.